Life is more than mint juleps

 

6327157268_4cd1ab4d9e_b

I bit the bullet – I bought an Erin Condren Life Planner.

For those of you who might not have Instagram, or Facebook, or just don’t pay close attention to your super-organized friends who seem to have it all together (I don’t blame you – it’s annoying), you might not know about the Life Planner. Fortunately, a real-life (non-Internet) friend introduced me to these bad boys, and I’m so excited for mine to arrive in 5-7 business days. (Oh, how shipped items test my patience…)

Of course, it’s got the standard planner fare – a month look ahead, a week-by-week view, room for tasks and shopping lists. But it’s organized in a really great way, making it easy (and fun!) to get your life in order.

And boy, do I need it.

I thought winter was busy, but spring is proving to be absolutely bananas. It’s our anniversary, my husband’s birthday, my niece’s birthday, my nephews’ birthday (the birthday list continues, but I’ll spare you). It’s also our second annual Kentucky Derby party next week, and I haven’t planned a thing.

My best friend is getting married later this year, too, and I’m working on coordinating lots of moving pieces around her shower and party. All fun stuff, but I want to be sure nothing slips through the cracks.

The Life Planner seems like a good start. We already have our monthly dry-erase calendar proudly displayed in our kitchen, but sometimes a more granular, day-to-day breakdown is more functional – or a longer look ahead, peering into June and beyond. If there’s anything this year has taught me, it’s that it’s not slowing down one bit – summer will be here before we know it.

To get myself even more organized, I’m planning to do a little Pinterest-inspired DIY and paint a chalkboard “wall” on the inside of my pantry door. There, I can always have a running grocery list on hand – and, one that my husband can add to, if he needs. (We grocery shop separately, and we don’t always announce it, which means sometimes his items are left out of my cart, and mine out of his.)

There’s something about the weather turning warmer that just makes me want to put my life in order – maybe my body (and mind) are just waking up out of a winter freeze, or maybe the chaos of spring is forcing my hand. Either way, I’m ready to get it together.

I’ll post more about how I’m using my Erin Condren planner when it comes and, in the meantime, you can find me scouring Pinterest for some new life organization hacks.

Comment below if you’ve got something that works for you! I’m also accepting killer mint julep recipes for next week’s affair. We had great decorations, awesome food, and an amazing time last year – but the juleps could have used some TLC.

Amidst all the craziness, I still had time to find a derby hat – even without a planner to prompt me. Go figure.

‘Til next week,

Meredith

Photo by Alison Headley.

2 comments

  1. Vanessa · May 1, 2016

    Let me know how you LOVE the Erin Condren planner! It really changed my life. FIND TIPS ON PINTEREST!!!!

    Like

  2. connie · May 1, 2016

    no mint julep recipes but let us know how the planner turns out. also have a lot going on and am looking for the one thing to help me keep it all organized

    Like

Leave a Reply

